Monday, April 26, 2010


Here are maps of Africa and Uganda (from the CIA World Fact Book-- For those of you unfamiliar with African geography, Uganda is located in East Africa. It borders Kenya to the east, Sudan to the north, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) to the west, and Rwanda and Tanzania to the south/southwest. The large majority of the southern border is along Lake Victoria, which covers 68,800 square kilometers (26,600 square miles) and is the largest lake in Africa.

I will be living in Mbale, which is about about 45 minutes by bus from the Kenyan border. Note that Uganda is divided into 97 districts; the city Mbale is part of Mbale District (naturally).

History of the Ugandan flag

The flag of Uganda was adopted on October 9, 1962, the date that Uganda became independent from the United Kingdom. It consists of six equal horizontal bands of black, yellow, and red, repeated twice. These are representative of Africa's peoples, sunshine, and brotherhood, respectively. A white disc is superimposed at the center and depicts the national symbol, a Grey Crowned Crane, facing the hoist side. This bird is fabled for its gentle nature and was also the military badge of Ugandan soldiers during British rule

Attempting to create a blog

This is a test post to see if I actually did this correctly. I've already had a few challenges...